July memories

Something died, but no tears were shed
That day I thought the devil had taken your head
No blows thrown,
But by verb and noun
Oh, and the ones you aimed at Mom
I knew you were flawed
But just stood awed
After I caught the bruises you meant for her,
Feeling only the two blows I was too slow to smother
Anger in your eyes, the kind only felt by men with no power,
Her strangled cries lead to anger in mine, and words followed in a lead shower
Piercing, searching, I finally found the ones your pride couldn’t deflect,
Words I knew would lodge deep, but our similarities wouldn’t reflect
Alas, I was slightly incorrect
That they were true of me, you couldn’t say
But who knew penetrating a wall would ricochet?
Our bond was broken then,
But if you knew me, you’d know that was just the loudest moment
Silent observances had long since begotten talkative torment
In forgotten glances though, perhaps you’d seen
That a son nicer than average could be so mean.

Leave a comment